TOP FM Wins Transparency Mauritius Investigative Journalism Award 2015

TOP FM won the second edition of Transparency Mauritius Investigative Journalism Award 2015 for its investigation entitled “Le décèsde IqbalToofanny”. The journalists who investigated in the case were Balkrishna Kaunhye, Joel Marianne, Murvind Beetun, Diana Tandrayen, Kavinashsingh Ramtohul and Pravish Kumar Rampall.  The report was broadcasted on TOP TV, the Web TV of TOP FM.

TOP FM also won the first prize for the online category. Being the winner, TOP FM received a trophy offered by Transparency Mauritius as well as a return ticket to Rodrigues offered by Air Mauritius and a stay at the Tekoma Hoteloffered by the Trimetys Group.

“It is a great honour for TOP FM and TOP TV and we are very proud of this award that recognizes the work that we do. We are very glad that ‘Nous sommes tous Iqbal’ was awarded and we wish to thank Transparency Mauritius for their work and for encouraging investigative journalism through this award annually,” said Balkrishna Kaunhye, CEO of TOP FM.

“Each report and investigation we did at TOP FM is to contribute to the progress of Mauritius. I dedicate this award to patriotism,” said Joel Marianne.

A special mention from the Jury was awarded to Herrsha Boodhun of BIZweek for her investigation on the ENL Group.

The Jury for the Transparency Mauritius Investigative Journalism Award 2015 consisted of Christelle Sohun (Chair), Christina Chan-Meetoo, Manda Boolell and Yvan Martial.